Baby Ché and His Proud Dad

I think today was the most relaxing day I’ve had in many months. We had a lie-in until 09:00 and then drove up to St George’s Market in Belfast with Mrs P, Sophie and her country cousin, Fiona. Once I had got over paying £8.40 for two black coffees and two hot chocolates, I started to relax and had a wander around with my camera. I was particularly pleased with a shot I took of a chap called Al, who was holding his five month old baby, Ché Phoenix. I saw him standing halfway in and out of a glass fire door enjoying the cooler air and I liked the light, so I asked him if I could take the shot. Baby Ché’s parents, Al and Astra, run a stall selling books and they’re lovely people. Give them a visit, local readers!

Baby Ché Phoenix

Che II

St George’s Market takes place in a very old building which initially formed part of a much bigger market area. I’ve seen old pictures from the ’30s and ’40s showing lots of farm animals and farm produce for sale on a huge scale on the site across the road, which is now covered by various office buildings, and the local residential area is still known as The Markets. Here’s a shot I took one rainy night a few years ago: St George’s Market At Night

Anyway, here are a few more from today’s walkabout.

Breads

Breads

The Lady In Red

Lady

Browsing

Lady II

Facade

SGMO II

The shot of the day was definitely Ché and his dad, for me. More snapping tomorrow, methinks!

Leave a comment