Snapper or Photographer?

This morning was pretty much a mad rush. Mrs P had to be at Lagan Valley Hospital by 08:00 and that left me in Lisburn with nothing to do until around 14:30, so off I went to Belfast for an ad hoc photo walk. I walked for a few miles around and through the centre of town before deciding to visit the Belfast Exposed gallery to catch up with the Northern Ireland: 30 Years of Photography exhibition. Upstairs in the separate Interim exhibition, I met Jim McKeever, a masters student, who had some work on show. We had a fairly long and very interesting discussion around the creative process, film versus digital and a few other subjects. I was left with some thoughts around whether I should continue with my “snapping” style of interesting (to me) content-based shots or try to attempt a project based on concept rather than content. I imagine that I’ll be wrestling with this argument for some time. Click on Jim’s name above, to visit his website – it’s well worth a visit.

Lady

 

For the moment though, I’ll continue with just shooting what appeals to me. I don’t know if I’m relying on presets and editing too much. Any feedback would be appreciated!

Wasp

 

Mrs P is now home and is doing well, all things considered. I’m off out later on Outreach and I’m working for a few hours tomorrow morning and then no more work until Monday morning. Mrs P and I are off to Dublin for the weekend. Watch out O’Neill’s pub!

Downpipe

 

Today’s photographs perhaps portray Belfast as a gritty and grimy place, and to a certain extent it is. However, I saw this following quote about Belfast on a hoarding and I think it balances the images a little. Enjoy.

“The city rises and falls like music, like breathing… Belfast is Rome with more hills: it is Atlantis raised from the sea. And from anywhere you stand, from anywhere you look, the streets glitter like jewels, like small strings of stars… However many, whatever size, it is magical.” – Extract from Eureka Street by Robert McLiam Wilson

One thought on “Snapper or Photographer?

Leave a comment